Aziz Bench

LiFePO4 vs Li-ion (NMC/NCA)

Between LiFePO4 and Li-ion, 14 of the 16 characteristics in the full table below differ; 2 are the same.

Rechargeable

LiFePO4

3.2 V · 109–163 Wh/kg · 1,000–6,000 cycles

The long-life lithium choice: thousands of cycles, a flat 3.2 V and a lower fire risk than other lithium-ion cells.

Watch out: Heavier than Li-ion for the same energy, and no charging at 0 °C or below. Its flat voltage makes the charge hard to read from the voltage.

Rechargeable

Li-ion (NMC/NCA)

3.6 V · 221–260 Wh/kg · 400 cycles

The most energy per kilogram among rechargeables, in standard 18650 and 21700 cells with high-capacity and high-current versions.

Watch out: No charging below 0 °C, and a damaged or shorted cell can catch fire: use protected cells or a BMS.

Full comparison

FeatureLiFePO4Li-ion (NMC/NCA)
Differences (14)
Basics
Nominal voltage3.2 V3.6 V
Voltage range2.5 V (empty) to 3.65 V (full)2.5 V (empty) to 4.2 V (full)
FormatsPrismatic storage cells and cylindrical power cells; 12, 24 and 48 V batteries with a built-in BMS18650 and 21700 cylindrical cells, alone or in packs
Example (source of the figures)EVE LF280K (280 Ah), A123 ANR26650M1-B (2.5 Ah)LG MJ1, Molicel P42A
Energy
Energy per kilogram109–163 Wh/kg221–260 Wh/kg
Energy per litre239–347 Wh/L597–727 Wh/L
Life and storage
Cycle life6,000 to 80 % of the energy (EVE LF280K storage cell, 0.5P, 25 °C); over 1,000 at 20 A and full depth (A123 power cell)400 to 80 % (LG MJ1); not stated for the Molicel P42A
Self-discharge and storageAt most 5 % in 28 days at 25 °C (EVE retention test); store at 30–40 %At most 10 % in 30 days at 25 °C (LG MJ1 test)
Current
Maximum continuous dischargeFrom 1C (EVE LF280K storage cell: 1P) to 20C (A123 ANR26650M1-B power cell: 50 A)From 10 A (2.9C, LG MJ1) to 45 A (10.7C, Molicel P42A)
Temperature
Charging temperature0–60 °C · EVE LF280K; full power only around 25 °C: 3 % of it at 0 °C, 30 % at 10 °C (constant-power table); not stated for the A123 cell0–45 °C
Discharge temperaturefrom −30 to 60 °C · EVE LF280K (only 20 % of full power at −20 °C); A123 −30 to 55 °Cfrom −40 to 60 °C · LG MJ1 from −20 °C
Safety, charging and shipping
Fire riskLower than NCA Li-ion and similar to LTO: in 18650 abuse tests thermal runaway began at 234 °C and peaked at 310 °C, against 207 °C and 579 °C for NCA, with the lowest pressure peak of the threeHigher: NCA cells went into thermal runaway at 207 °C and peaked at 579 °C in 18650 abuse tests; a short or an overcharge can start a fire
ChargingCC/CV to 3.65 V per cell at most; a BMS balances the cells and blocks charging in the coldCC/CV to 4.20 V per cell, never above; packs need a BMS
Uses
Typical usesHouse batteries for campers and boats, solar storage, 12 V lead-acid replacements, e-bikes, power stationsPower tools, e-bikes, laptops, flashlights, ESP32 projects on 18650 cells
Same on both (2)
Basics
TypeRechargeable
Safety, charging and shipping
Air transportLithium-ion dangerous goods (UN3480/3481): loose batteries by cargo aircraft only, at 30 % charge at most; since 2026, batteries over 2.7 Wh packed with equipment must also be at 30 % at most. Passengers carry spares in the cabin, up to 100 Wh freely and 100–160 Wh with airline approval; since 27 March 2026, at most two power banks each, not recharged on board

Choose LiFePO4 for

Choose Li-ion for

Open the battery comparison →Tick what your project needs and see which of the 15 chemistries fits.

Voltage and charge chart: LiFePO4 →
Voltage and charge chart: Li-ion (NMC/NCA) →

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between LiFePO4 and Li-ion?

With LiFePO4: more cycles, a lower thermal-runaway risk, and a 12 V format that replaces lead-acid. With Li-ion: more energy per kilogram and more energy per litre.

Which lasts longer, LiFePO4 or Li-ion?

Cycle life for LiFePO4: 6,000 to 80 % of the energy (EVE LF280K storage cell, 0.5P, 25 °C); over 1,000 at 20 A and full depth (A123 power cell). For Li-ion: 400 to 80 % (LG MJ1); not stated for the Molicel P42A. These figures depend on depth of discharge, current and temperature.

Can I replace Li-ion with LiFePO4?

Not directly: the voltage of LiFePO4 is 3.2 V per cell, against 3.6 V for Li-ion. You need a different number of cells, and a charger and a BMS set for the new chemistry.

Other comparisons

Figures from one or two named cells or batteries per chemistry, from the makers’ datasheets; checked in November 2026.