Aziz Bench

LiFePO4 vs lead-acid AGM

Between LiFePO4 and AGM, 14 of the 16 characteristics in the full table below differ; one is the same and one can’t be compared because our sources give no figure or rating for one or both.

Rechargeable

LiFePO4

3.2 V · 109–163 Wh/kg · 1,000–6,000 cycles

The long-life lithium choice: thousands of cycles, a flat 3.2 V and a lower fire risk than other lithium-ion cells.

Watch out: Heavier than Li-ion for the same energy, and no charging at 0 °C or below. Its flat voltage makes the charge hard to read from the voltage.

Rechargeable

Lead-acid AGM

2 V · 40 Wh/kg · 600 cycles

A sealed 12 V battery that standard chargers handle, and Fullriver allows charging down to −15 °C.

Watch out: Heavy (40 Wh/kg) and only 400 cycles at 80 % depth (Victron): deep discharges wear it out, and it should be recharged soon after use.

Full comparison

FeatureLiFePO4Lead-acid AGM
Differences (14)
Basics
Nominal voltage3.2 V2 V per cell (12 V = 6 cells)
Voltage range2.5 V (empty) to 3.65 V (full)1.75 V per cell at cut-off; absorption 14.2–14.6 V for 12 V (Victron)
FormatsPrismatic storage cells and cylindrical power cells; 12, 24 and 48 V batteries with a built-in BMS12 V blocks; sealed, valve-regulated (VRLA)
Example (source of the figures)EVE LF280K (280 Ah), A123 ANR26650M1-B (2.5 Ah)Victron AGM 12 V 90 Ah
Energy
Energy per kilogram109–163 Wh/kg40 Wh/kg
Energy per litre239–347 Wh/L101 Wh/L
Life and storage
Cycle life6,000 to 80 % of the energy (EVE LF280K storage cell, 0.5P, 25 °C); over 1,000 at 20 A and full depth (A123 power cell)400 at 80 % depth, 600 at 50 %, 1,500 at 30 % (Victron)
Self-discharge and storageAt most 5 % in 28 days at 25 °C (EVE retention test); store at 30–40 %Under 2 % a month at 20 °C, doubling with every 10 °C more (Victron)
Current
Maximum continuous dischargeFrom 1C (EVE LF280K storage cell: 1P) to 20C (A123 ANR26650M1-B power cell: 50 A)No continuous figure; 8C for 5 s at most (Victron)
Temperature
Charging temperature0–60 °C · EVE LF280K; full power only around 25 °C: 3 % of it at 0 °C, 30 % at 10 °C (constant-power table); not stated for the A123 cellfrom −15 to 50 °C · with temperature compensation; 0–40 °C without (Fullriver); never when frozen
Safety, charging and shipping
Fire riskLower than NCA Li-ion and similar to LTO: in 18650 abuse tests thermal runaway began at 234 °C and peaked at 310 °C, against 207 °C and 579 °C for NCA, with the lowest pressure peak of the threeNot rated here; sealed (valve-regulated), so there is no acid to top up
ChargingCC/CV to 3.65 V per cell at most; a BMS balances the cells and blocks charging in the cold3-stage charger: absorption 14.2–14.6 V, float 13.5–13.8 V for 12 V; temperature compensation below 10 °C and above 30 °C (Victron)
Air transportLithium-ion dangerous goods (UN3480/3481): loose batteries by cargo aircraft only, at 30 % charge at most; since 2026, batteries over 2.7 Wh packed with equipment must also be at 30 % at most. Passengers carry spares in the cabin, up to 100 Wh freely and 100–160 Wh with airline approval; since 27 March 2026, at most two power banks each, not recharged on boardNon-spillable (UN2800): not restricted when it passes the spill tests of special provision A67 and the terminals are protected
Uses
Typical usesHouse batteries for campers and boats, solar storage, 12 V lead-acid replacements, e-bikes, power stationsLeisure and backup batteries, UPS, alarm systems, starter batteries
Same on both (1)
Basics
TypeRechargeable
Can’t be compared (1)
Temperature
Discharge temperaturefrom −30 to 60 °C · EVE LF280K (only 20 % of full power at −20 °C); A123 −30 to 55 °CNot stated in our sources

Choose LiFePO4 for

Choose AGM for

Open the battery comparison →Tick what your project needs and see which of the 15 chemistries fits.

Voltage and charge chart: LiFePO4 →
Voltage and charge chart: Lead-acid AGM →

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between LiFePO4 and AGM?

With LiFePO4: more cycles, more energy per kilogram, more energy per litre, and simple 5 V charging with a one-cell module. With AGM: charging in the cold and easier air transport.

Which lasts longer, LiFePO4 or AGM?

Cycle life for LiFePO4: 6,000 to 80 % of the energy (EVE LF280K storage cell, 0.5P, 25 °C); over 1,000 at 20 A and full depth (A123 power cell). For AGM: 400 at 80 % depth, 600 at 50 %, 1,500 at 30 % (Victron). These figures depend on depth of discharge, current and temperature.

Can I replace AGM with LiFePO4?

Yes as a 12 V battery, but set the charger for the new type: absorption 14.0–14.4 V (Victron) for LiFePO4, 14.2–14.6 V for AGM. Never charge LiFePO4 below 0 °C.

Other comparisons

Figures from one or two named cells or batteries per chemistry, from the makers’ datasheets; checked in November 2026.