Aziz Bench

Supercapacitor vs Li-ion (NMC/NCA)

Between a supercapacitor and Li-ion, 14 of the 16 characteristics in the full table below differ; 2 can’t be compared because our sources give no figure or rating for one or both.

Rechargeable (capacitor)

Supercapacitor

2.7 V · 6.9 Wh/kg · 1,000,000 cycles

A million cycles, hundreds of amps and charging down to −40 °C: for short bursts and backup, not for storing energy.

Watch out: Only 6.9 Wh/kg, about 30 times less than Li-ion, and it loses about 3 % of its voltage a day through leakage (our estimate).

Rechargeable

Li-ion (NMC/NCA)

3.6 V · 221–260 Wh/kg · 400 cycles

The most energy per kilogram among rechargeables, in standard 18650 and 21700 cells with high-capacity and high-current versions.

Watch out: No charging below 0 °C, and a damaged or shorted cell can catch fire: use protected cells or a BMS.

Full comparison

FeatureSupercapacitorLi-ion (NMC/NCA)
Differences (14)
Basics
TypeRechargeable (capacitor)Rechargeable
Nominal voltage2.7 V rated3.6 V
Voltage range0 to 2.7 V: the voltage falls in a straight line as it discharges2.5 V (empty) to 4.2 V (full)
FormatsCells from a few farads to 3,000 F, and modules18650 and 21700 cylindrical cells, alone or in packs
Example (source of the figures)Maxwell BCAP3000 (3000 F)LG MJ1, Molicel P42A
Energy
Energy per kilogram6.9 Wh/kg221–260 Wh/kg
Life and storage
Cycle life1,000,000 (projected at 25 °C, Maxwell)400 to 80 % (LG MJ1); not stated for the Molicel P42A
Self-discharge and storageLeakage 2.8 mA after 72 h at 2.7 V (Maxwell): about 0.08 V a day from full, if the leakage stayed that high (our estimate)At most 10 % in 30 days at 25 °C (LG MJ1 test)
Current
Maximum continuous discharge170 A, 2,300 A peak (Maxwell BCAP3000)From 10 A (2.9C, LG MJ1) to 45 A (10.7C, Molicel P42A)
Temperature
Charging temperaturefrom −40 to 65 °C0–45 °C
Discharge temperaturefrom −40 to 65 °Cfrom −40 to 60 °C · LG MJ1 from −20 °C
Safety, charging and shipping
ChargingAny current up to the cell’s limit, stopping at 2.7 V (2.85 V for 1 s at most); cells in series need balancingCC/CV to 4.20 V per cell, never above; packs need a BMS
Air transportUN3499: cells storing under 10 Wh are not dangerous goods (Maxwell)Lithium-ion dangerous goods (UN3480/3481): loose batteries by cargo aircraft only, at 30 % charge at most; since 2026, batteries over 2.7 Wh packed with equipment must also be at 30 % at most. Passengers carry spares in the cabin, up to 100 Wh freely and 100–160 Wh with airline approval; since 27 March 2026, at most two power banks each, not recharged on board
Uses
Typical usesCurrent bursts and backup: real-time clocks, short power cuts, engine starting, energy recoveryPower tools, e-bikes, laptops, flashlights, ESP32 projects on 18650 cells
Can’t be compared (2)
Energy
Energy per litreNot stated in our sources597–727 Wh/L
Safety, charging and shipping
Fire riskNot rated hereHigher: NCA cells went into thermal runaway at 207 °C and peaked at 579 °C in 18650 abuse tests; a short or an overcharge can start a fire

Choose a supercapacitor for

Choose Li-ion for

Open the battery comparison →Tick what your project needs and see which of the 15 chemistries fits.

Voltage and charge chart: Li-ion (NMC/NCA) →

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between a supercapacitor and Li-ion?

With a supercapacitor: more cycles, more continuous current, charging in the cold, and easier air transport. With Li-ion: more energy per kilogram and simple 5 V charging with a one-cell module.

Which lasts longer, a supercapacitor or Li-ion?

Cycle life for a supercapacitor: 1,000,000 (projected at 25 °C, Maxwell). For Li-ion: 400 to 80 % (LG MJ1); not stated for the Molicel P42A. These figures depend on depth of discharge, current and temperature.

Can I replace Li-ion with a supercapacitor?

Not as a battery: the energy per kilogram of a supercapacitor is 6.9 Wh/kg, against 221–260 Wh/kg for Li-ion, but its current reaches 170 A, 2,300 A peak (Maxwell BCAP3000). Use it next to a battery to cover current peaks.

Other comparisons

Figures from one or two named cells or batteries per chemistry, from the makers’ datasheets; checked in November 2026.