Aziz Bench

NiMH low self-discharge vs Li-ion (NMC/NCA)

Between low self-discharge NiMH and Li-ion, 13 of the 16 characteristics in the full table below differ; one is the same and 2 can’t be compared because our sources give no figure or rating for one or both.

Rechargeable

NiMH low self-discharge

1.2 V · 84 Wh/kg · 2,100 cycles

An AA or AAA you can recharge up to 2,100 times that still holds 70 % after 10 years in a drawer.

Watch out: 1.2 V instead of 1.5 V: a few devices show a low battery early. Panasonic advises against devices with airtight battery compartments.

Rechargeable

Li-ion (NMC/NCA)

3.6 V · 221–260 Wh/kg · 400 cycles

The most energy per kilogram among rechargeables, in standard 18650 and 21700 cells with high-capacity and high-current versions.

Watch out: No charging below 0 °C, and a damaged or shorted cell can catch fire: use protected cells or a BMS.

Full comparison

FeatureNiMH low self-dischargeLi-ion (NMC/NCA)
Differences (13)
Basics
Nominal voltage1.2 V3.6 V
Voltage range0.9 V (empty) to 1.4 V (full)2.5 V (empty) to 4.2 V (full)
FormatsAA and AAA18650 and 21700 cylindrical cells, alone or in packs
Example (source of the figures)Panasonic eneloop AALG MJ1, Molicel P42A
Energy
Energy per kilogram84 Wh/kg221–260 Wh/kg
Energy per litre273 Wh/L597–727 Wh/L
Life and storage
Cycle lifeUp to 2,100 (IEC 61951-2:2011); 600 with the 2017 method (Panasonic)400 to 80 % (LG MJ1); not stated for the Molicel P42A
Self-discharge and storage70 % left after 10 years at 20 °C (Panasonic estimate)At most 10 % in 30 days at 25 °C (LG MJ1 test)
Temperature
Charging temperature0–40 °C · fast charge (Panasonic BK-3MCC)0–45 °C
Discharge temperaturefrom −20 to 50 °C · rated for use (Panasonic)from −40 to 60 °C · LG MJ1 from −20 °C
Safety, charging and shipping
ChargingNiMH smart charger (2–3 hours) or 0.1C for 12–14 hours; trickle below C/40 (Energizer)CC/CV to 4.20 V per cell, never above; packs need a BMS
Air transportNot restricted by air when the terminals are protected against short circuits (IATA special provisions A199 for NiMH, A123 for dry cells)Lithium-ion dangerous goods (UN3480/3481): loose batteries by cargo aircraft only, at 30 % charge at most; since 2026, batteries over 2.7 Wh packed with equipment must also be at 30 % at most. Passengers carry spares in the cabin, up to 100 Wh freely and 100–160 Wh with airline approval; since 27 March 2026, at most two power banks each, not recharged on board
Uses
Typical usesRemotes, toys, game controllers, camera flashes, wireless keyboardsPower tools, e-bikes, laptops, flashlights, ESP32 projects on 18650 cells
Same on both (1)
Basics
TypeRechargeable
Can’t be compared (2)
Current
Maximum continuous dischargeNot stated in our sourcesFrom 10 A (2.9C, LG MJ1) to 45 A (10.7C, Molicel P42A)
Safety, charging and shipping
Fire riskNot rated hereHigher: NCA cells went into thermal runaway at 207 °C and peaked at 579 °C in 18650 abuse tests; a short or an overcharge can start a fire

Choose low self-discharge NiMH for

Choose Li-ion for

Open the battery comparison →Tick what your project needs and see which of the 15 chemistries fits.

Voltage and charge chart: NiMH low self-discharge →
Voltage and charge chart: Li-ion (NMC/NCA) →

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between low self-discharge NiMH and Li-ion?

With low self-discharge NiMH: more cycles, long storage, easier air transport, and the AA/AAA format. With Li-ion: more energy per kilogram, more energy per litre, and simple 5 V charging with a one-cell module.

Which lasts longer, low self-discharge NiMH or Li-ion?

Cycle life for low self-discharge NiMH: up to 2,100 (IEC 61951-2:2011); 600 with the 2017 method (Panasonic). For Li-ion: 400 to 80 % (LG MJ1); not stated for the Molicel P42A. These figures depend on depth of discharge, current and temperature.

Can I replace low self-discharge NiMH with Li-ion?

No: the voltage of Li-ion is 3.6 V per cell, against 1.2 V for low self-discharge NiMH, and in a device made for AA batteries it can do damage.

Other comparisons

Figures from one or two named cells or batteries per chemistry, from the makers’ datasheets; checked in November 2026.