Aziz Bench

Li-ion (NMC/NCA) vs LiPo (pouch)

Between Li-ion and LiPo, 14 of the 16 characteristics in the full table below differ; 2 are the same.

Rechargeable

Li-ion (NMC/NCA)

3.6 V · 221–260 Wh/kg · 400 cycles

The most energy per kilogram among rechargeables, in standard 18650 and 21700 cells with high-capacity and high-current versions.

Watch out: No charging below 0 °C, and a damaged or shorted cell can catch fire: use protected cells or a BMS.

Rechargeable

LiPo (pouch)

3.7 V · 173–185 Wh/kg · 500 cycles

Light, flat cells in almost any shape, with the highest discharge rates for drones and RC models.

Watch out: The soft pouch has no case: retire swollen packs, never puncture them, and charge on a fire-safe surface.

Full comparison

FeatureLi-ion (NMC/NCA)LiPo (pouch)
Differences (14)
Basics
Nominal voltage3.6 V3.7 V
Voltage range2.5 V (empty) to 4.2 V (full)2.75 V (empty) to 4.2 V (full)
Formats18650 and 21700 cylindrical cells, alone or in packsFlat pouch cells; RC and drone packs from 1S to 6S with balance leads
Example (source of the figures)LG MJ1, Molicel P42AEEMB LP503759, Grepow 25C
Energy
Energy per kilogram221–260 Wh/kg173–185 Wh/kg
Energy per litre597–727 Wh/L361–388 Wh/L
Life and storage
Cycle life400 to 80 % (LG MJ1); not stated for the Molicel P42A500 at 0.5C (EEMB LP503759); not stated for the Grepow cell
Self-discharge and storageAt most 10 % in 30 days at 25 °C (LG MJ1 test)No yearly figure: EEMB asks to store at 40–60 % and recharge every 3 months
Current
Maximum continuous dischargeFrom 10 A (2.9C, LG MJ1) to 45 A (10.7C, Molicel P42A)From 2C (EEMB LP503759) to 25C (Grepow GRP5934096: 45 A)
Temperature
Charging temperature0–45 °C0–45 °C · EEMB LP503759; not stated for the Grepow cell
Discharge temperaturefrom −40 to 60 °C · LG MJ1 from −20 °Cfrom −20 to 60 °C · EEMB LP503759; not stated for the Grepow cell
Safety, charging and shipping
Fire riskHigher: NCA cells went into thermal runaway at 207 °C and peaked at 579 °C in 18650 abuse tests; a short or an overcharge can start a fireHigher: the Li-ion chemistry in a soft pouch with no metal case; a swollen, punctured or crashed pack can catch fire
ChargingCC/CV to 4.20 V per cell, never above; packs need a BMSCC/CV to 4.20 V per cell (LiHV 4.35 V); packs of several cells on a balance charger
Uses
Typical usesPower tools, e-bikes, laptops, flashlights, ESP32 projects on 18650 cellsDrones, RC models, thin devices, wearables
Same on both (2)
Basics
TypeRechargeable
Safety, charging and shipping
Air transportLithium-ion dangerous goods (UN3480/3481): loose batteries by cargo aircraft only, at 30 % charge at most; since 2026, batteries over 2.7 Wh packed with equipment must also be at 30 % at most. Passengers carry spares in the cabin, up to 100 Wh freely and 100–160 Wh with airline approval; since 27 March 2026, at most two power banks each, not recharged on board

Choose Li-ion for

Choose LiPo for

Open the battery comparison →Tick what your project needs and see which of the 15 chemistries fits.

Voltage and charge chart: Li-ion (NMC/NCA) →
Voltage and charge chart: LiPo (pouch) →

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Li-ion and LiPo?

With Li-ion: more energy per litre. With LiPo: more cycles.

Which lasts longer, Li-ion or LiPo?

Cycle life for Li-ion: 400 to 80 % (LG MJ1); not stated for the Molicel P42A. For LiPo: 500 at 0.5C (EEMB LP503759); not stated for the Grepow cell. These figures depend on depth of discharge, current and temperature.

Can I replace LiPo with Li-ion?

Often: both are about 3.6 V per cell and charge to 4.2 V. Check that the new cell or pack handles the current, fits, and has protection or a BMS.

Other comparisons

Figures from one or two named cells or batteries per chemistry, from the makers’ datasheets; checked in November 2026.