Aziz Bench

LTO (lithium titanate) vs LiFePO4

Between LTO and LiFePO4, 12 of the 16 characteristics in the full table below differ; 2 are the same and 2 can’t be compared because our sources give no figure or rating for one or both.

Rechargeable

LTO (lithium titanate)

2.3 V · 84–96 Wh/kg · 20,000 cycles

Tens of thousands of cycles, very fast charging, and charging even at −30 °C.

Watch out: Low voltage (2.3 V per cell) and less than half the energy per kilogram of Li-ion, so packs are big and heavy.

Rechargeable

LiFePO4

3.2 V · 109–163 Wh/kg · 1,000–6,000 cycles

The long-life lithium choice: thousands of cycles, a flat 3.2 V and a lower fire risk than other lithium-ion cells.

Watch out: Heavier than Li-ion for the same energy, and no charging at 0 °C or below. Its flat voltage makes the charge hard to read from the voltage.

Full comparison

FeatureLTO (lithium titanate)LiFePO4
Differences (12)
Basics
Nominal voltage2.3 V3.2 V
FormatsPrismatic cells (Toshiba SCiB 2.9–23 Ah) and modulesPrismatic storage cells and cylindrical power cells; 12, 24 and 48 V batteries with a built-in BMS
Example (source of the figures)Toshiba SCiB 20 Ah, 23 AhEVE LF280K (280 Ah), A123 ANR26650M1-B (2.5 Ah)
Energy
Energy per kilogram84–96 Wh/kg109–163 Wh/kg
Energy per litre176–202 Wh/L239–347 Wh/L
Life and storage
Cycle lifeOver 20,000 to 70 % (Toshiba, 3C, 25 °C)6,000 to 80 % of the energy (EVE LF280K storage cell, 0.5P, 25 °C); over 1,000 at 20 A and full depth (A123 power cell)
Current
Maximum continuous dischargeNo continuous figure for single cells; 1,900 W for 10 s on the 20 Ah-HP cell (Toshiba)From 1C (EVE LF280K storage cell: 1P) to 20C (A123 ANR26650M1-B power cell: 50 A)
Temperature
Charging temperaturefrom −30 to 45 °C · Toshiba: repeated charging and discharging possible at −30 °C; modules −30 to 45 °C0–60 °C · EVE LF280K; full power only around 25 °C: 3 % of it at 0 °C, 30 % at 10 °C (constant-power table); not stated for the A123 cell
Discharge temperaturefrom −30 to 45 °Cfrom −30 to 60 °C · EVE LF280K (only 20 % of full power at −20 °C); A123 −30 to 55 °C
Safety, charging and shipping
Fire riskLower than NCA Li-ion and similar to LiFePO4: in the 18650 tests runaway began at 233 °C and peaked at 338 °C, with a higher pressure peak than LiFePO4; Toshiba: low risk of fire or explosionLower than NCA Li-ion and similar to LTO: in 18650 abuse tests thermal runaway began at 234 °C and peaked at 310 °C, against 207 °C and 579 °C for NCA, with the lowest pressure peak of the three
Charging80 % in 6 minutes in Toshiba’s test; needs a charger and BMS set for LTO voltagesCC/CV to 3.65 V per cell at most; a BMS balances the cells and blocks charging in the cold
Uses
Typical usesBuses, industrial vehicles, grid storage, solar in cold climatesHouse batteries for campers and boats, solar storage, 12 V lead-acid replacements, e-bikes, power stations
Same on both (2)
Basics
TypeRechargeable
Safety, charging and shipping
Air transportLithium-ion dangerous goods (UN3480/3481): loose batteries by cargo aircraft only, at 30 % charge at most; since 2026, batteries over 2.7 Wh packed with equipment must also be at 30 % at most. Passengers carry spares in the cabin, up to 100 Wh freely and 100–160 Wh with airline approval; since 27 March 2026, at most two power banks each, not recharged on board
Can’t be compared (2)
Basics
Voltage rangeNot stated for single cells2.5 V (empty) to 3.65 V (full)
Life and storage
Self-discharge and storageNot stated in our sourcesAt most 5 % in 28 days at 25 °C (EVE retention test); store at 30–40 %

Choose LTO for

Choose LiFePO4 for

Open the battery comparison →Tick what your project needs and see which of the 15 chemistries fits.

Voltage and charge chart: LiFePO4 →

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between LTO and LiFePO4?

With LTO: more cycles and charging in the cold. With LiFePO4: simple 5 V charging with a one-cell module and a 12 V format that replaces lead-acid.

Which lasts longer, LTO or LiFePO4?

Cycle life for LTO: over 20,000 to 70 % (Toshiba, 3C, 25 °C). For LiFePO4: 6,000 to 80 % of the energy (EVE LF280K storage cell, 0.5P, 25 °C); over 1,000 at 20 A and full depth (A123 power cell). These figures depend on depth of discharge, current and temperature.

Can I replace LiFePO4 with LTO?

Not directly: the voltage of LTO is 2.3 V per cell, against 3.2 V for LiFePO4. You need a different number of cells, and a charger and a BMS set for the new chemistry.

Other comparisons

Figures from one or two named cells or batteries per chemistry, from the makers’ datasheets; checked in November 2026.