Aziz Bench

Lead-acid AGM vs lead-acid gel

Between AGM and gel, 9 of the 16 characteristics in the full table below differ; 6 are the same and one can’t be compared because our sources give no figure or rating for one or both.

Rechargeable

Lead-acid AGM

2 V · 40 Wh/kg · 600 cycles

A sealed 12 V battery that standard chargers handle, and Fullriver allows charging down to −15 °C.

Watch out: Heavy (40 Wh/kg) and only 400 cycles at 80 % depth (Victron): deep discharges wear it out, and it should be recharged soon after use.

Rechargeable

Lead-acid gel

2 V · 41.5 Wh/kg · 750 cycles

The longest-lasting sealed lead-acid in Victron’s figures: 500 cycles at 80 % depth against 400 for AGM.

Watch out: Lower peak current than AGM (7C against 8C for 5 s, Victron), and it needs its own lower charging voltage.

Full comparison

FeatureLead-acid AGMLead-acid gel
Differences (9)
Basics
Voltage range1.75 V per cell at cut-off; absorption 14.2–14.6 V for 12 V (Victron)1.75 V per cell at cut-off; absorption 14.1–14.4 V for 12 V (Victron)
Formats12 V blocks; sealed, valve-regulated (VRLA)12 V blocks; sealed (VRLA), with the acid in a gel
Example (source of the figures)Victron AGM 12 V 90 AhVictron gel 12 V 90 Ah
Energy
Energy per kilogram40 Wh/kg41.5 Wh/kg
Life and storage
Cycle life400 at 80 % depth, 600 at 50 %, 1,500 at 30 % (Victron)500 at 80 % depth, 750 at 50 %, 1,800 at 30 % (Victron)
Current
Maximum continuous dischargeNo continuous figure; 8C for 5 s at most (Victron)No continuous figure; 7C for 5 s at most (Victron)
Temperature
Charging temperaturefrom −15 to 50 °C · with temperature compensation; 0–40 °C without (Fullriver); never when frozenNot stated in our sources · temperature compensation needed below 10 °C (Victron)
Safety, charging and shipping
Charging3-stage charger: absorption 14.2–14.6 V, float 13.5–13.8 V for 12 V; temperature compensation below 10 °C and above 30 °C (Victron)Absorption 14.1–14.4 V, float 13.5–13.8 V for 12 V (Victron)
Uses
Typical usesLeisure and backup batteries, UPS, alarm systems, starter batteriesSlow, regular deep discharges: solar, mobility aids
Same on both (6)
Basics
TypeRechargeable
Nominal voltage2 V per cell (12 V = 6 cells)
Energy
Energy per litre101 Wh/L
Life and storage
Self-discharge and storageUnder 2 % a month at 20 °C, doubling with every 10 °C more (Victron)
Safety, charging and shipping
Fire riskNot rated here; sealed (valve-regulated), so there is no acid to top up
Air transportNon-spillable (UN2800): not restricted when it passes the spill tests of special provision A67 and the terminals are protected
Can’t be compared (1)
Temperature
Discharge temperatureNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sources

When to choose AGM

In our table, no characteristic is in favour of AGM over gel.

Choose gel for

Open the battery comparison →Tick what your project needs and see which of the 15 chemistries fits.

Voltage and charge chart: Lead-acid AGM →
Voltage and charge chart: Lead-acid gel →

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between AGM and gel?

With gel: more cycles. In our table, no characteristic is in favour of AGM.

Which lasts longer, AGM or gel?

Cycle life for AGM: 400 at 80 % depth, 600 at 50 %, 1,500 at 30 % (Victron). For gel: 500 at 80 % depth, 750 at 50 %, 1,800 at 30 % (Victron). These figures depend on depth of discharge, current and temperature.

Can I replace gel with AGM?

Yes as a 12 V battery, but set the charger for the new type: absorption 14.2–14.6 V for AGM, 14.1–14.4 V for gel.

Other comparisons

Figures from one or two named cells or batteries per chemistry, from the makers’ datasheets; checked in November 2026.